top of page

City of New Braunfels

About Us

​The Central Texas Stormwater Coalition (CTSC) is comprised of MS4 program managers from the Central Texas cities of San Marcos, and New Braunfels, as well as Texas State University.

This collaborative group was formed with the intent to combine efforts, share experiences, and provide support in an effort to improve each entity's MS4 program and meet program goals for compliance with state and federal regulations.

City of New Braunfels


Phillip Quast is the Watershed Coordinator for the City of New Braunfels and has held this position since 2018. His academic background includes a Master of Applied Geography degree from Texas State University with a focus on Environmental Resource Management and Geographic Information Systems and a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science, also from Texas State University. Phillip has worked in the field of land conservation and habitat restoration for 14 years and enjoys working to develop and implement programs that are designed to improve the habitats for wildlife to thrive in.

City of San Marcos

Alex O'Connor is the Stormwater Coordinator for the City of San Marcos where she ensures compliance with the TCEQ issued Phase II Small MS4 permit. Alex is a CISEC (#2145) with over 13 years working in environmental compliance focused on stormwater management and the Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (TPDES) permitting. Alex has extensive experience in stormwater inspections, best management practices, chemical wastes, Tier II reporting, spill response, Spill Prevention Control and Countermeasure (SPCC) plans, GIS, Phase I and II Environmental Site Assessments and Geologic Assessments.


Rachel Wolfshohl is a CISEC IT and holds a bachelor’s degree in Resource and Environmental Studies from Texas State University. She currently works for the City of San Marcos as a stormwater technician where she assists in implementing the City’s MS4 program. Her specialties include stormwater compliance operations, GIS applications, state and federal environmental regulations including stormwater inspections, best management practices, spill response and Spill Prevention Control and Countermeasure (SPCC) plans.

Texas State University

Peyton Pic_edited.jpg

Peyton Austin is an environmental health and safety specialist for the Texas State University, where he helps to implement MS4 compliance operations for active construction and daily activities on campus. Peyton has maintenance experience as an equipment operator for the City of San Marcos, and design experience as an intern for Gallup Engineering. Peyton graduated Summa Cum Laude from Texas State University with a degree in Water Resources, and in July of 2020 he became a Certified Inspector of Sediment and Erosion Control (CISEC #2973). Outside of work, Peyton spends his time working on his master’s degree, golfing, and spending ample time in the San Marcos River.

bottom of page